Monday, May 6, 2019

Happy Book Birthday! {giveaways!}



I'm utterly speechless.

May 15th will be two years since Spinner of Secrets was published.

It feels like yesterday and at the same time, it feels like it was a hundred and seventeen years ago.



To celebrate...

GIVEAWAYS.

There's a giveaway of Through the Pages, with a paperback for US winners and a Kindle edition for everyone!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


And a giveaway of Spinner of Secrets, with a paperback for US winners and a Kindle edition for everyone!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


I wouldn't be where I am today with the support you all have given along the way. This is my way of saying thanks for an awesome two years. I'm looking forward to many, many more.

Blessings,
Annie

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

The Witching Hour {book spotlight}

Guess who's late again? Google broke the 'schedule posts' feature on my blog, and I'm still working on a schedule that works, so here we go, a date late. 

Today I've got my sweet friend Savannah on the blog!

Do you love cats? Do you enjoy frolicking fantasy, sweet romance, good versus evil, and stories with a good redemption angle? If so, you’re sure to fall in love with The Witching Hour, a fantasy with fairy tale themes and lots of giggles.




Witching Hour_Character Card Graphic

{about The Witching Hour}


part one
As shadows encroach on the city of Lite, one cat stands between humanity and the hounds of darkness. Romeo takes it upon himself to find a suitor for his human Isabel in order to save the city and sets his sights on the unlikeliest of candidates. Can true love really save the day? Read Part One for FREE on Kindle and Most Digital Stores.


part two
When Isabel disappears in the middle of the night, matters take a turn for the worst. Romeo finds himself trekking through the dangerous wildlands to rescue the young queen with a clownish wizard, a sassy she-cat, a pretty healer, and a mysterious solider. However, their only hope may be the very thing Romeo fears most. Can Romeo and his friends save the day before the shadows consume them?

Preorder for $.99/Releases March 25! Don’t forget to add the novella to your Goodreads Shelf.

The Witching Hour is a frolicking fantasy adventure with fairy tale themes and clean romance. Perfect for fans of Diana Wynne Jones and Lloyd Alexander. Rated: PG for thematic elements and mild battle sequences




 You can enter to win a FREE paperback of THE COMPLETE STORY, Parts One AND Two in one cute paperback. To enter, simply enter the rafflecopter giveaway. Winner will be chosen March 30th.


This giveaway is US ONLY. Enter the Giveaway!



DSCF6135
 


{about the author}

Savannah Jezowski lives in Amish country with her Knight in Shining Armor and a wee warrior princess. She is the founder of Dragonpen Designs and Dragonpen Press, which offers author services such as cover design, developmental edits, and interior formatting. Her debut novella “Wither” is featured in Five Enchanted Roses, an anthology of Beauty and the Beast, and is a prequel to The Neverway Chronicles, a Christian fantasy series filled with tragic heroes and the living dead. She is also the author of When Ravens Fall, a Norse Beauty and the Beast retelling. She is featured in several Fellowship of Fantasy anthologies, including Mythical Doorways, Tales of Ever After, and Paws, Claws, and Magic Tales. When she isn’t writing, Savannah likes to read books, watch BBC miniseries, and play with cover design. She also enjoys having tea with her imaginary friends.

Learn more about Savannah Jezowski

Want to know about sales and new releases? Sign up for Savannah's newsletter.


Be sure to check out all the stops in The Witching Hour Blog Tour. There will be fun character interviews, guest posts, book reviews and more!

March 18 – http://anniedouglasslima.blogspot.com
March 19 – http://cobonham.com
March 20 – https://thefoldedworld.wordpress.com
March 21 – https://tammylash.wordpress.com/
March 22 – http://jenelleschmidt.com www.angeleya.com
March 24 – http://corinnejet.wordpress.com
March 25 – https://dragonpenpress.com/ RELEASE DAY
March 26 – http://annie-louise-twitchell.blogspot.com/
March 27 – www.hlburkeauthor.com/blog
March 28 – http://megdendler.blogspot.com/
March 29 – http://sjeckert.wordpress.com

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Atoning for Ashes {book review}




"We were both broken. God knew it takes two broken hearts to make a whole." 


{about the book} 

Josie Chadwick dreams of marrying for love in Cornwall, England, but with her father's debt threatening to destroy all she holds dear, her romantic options are dwindling. When her elder sister Delia is disowned, Josie finds herself heiress of Chadwick Park, torn between dreams and duty. After sacrificing her heart to atone for Delia's sin, Josie clings to the hope she will learn to love a distant husband, whom she fears is incapable of requiting her affection. 
Charles Radcliffe's heart has been scarred and hardened by rejection. He fears hurting his new bride, but his fears of betrayal and rejection are stronger, making it impossible for him to trust her love―let alone the love of her God. 
As Josie and Charles face their new life together, ominous events warn of dark family secrets that could shatter them both. More than a loveless marriage is at stake if they cannot stand as one. Will they learn to trust God and each other before it's too late? 



{about the author} 


Kaitlin Covel has a thirst for adventure much like the heroines of her stories. She is an old-fashioned romantic, and if she could time travel to any historical period, it would be the Regency Era. Here in the 21st century, she is a certified Nutritional Therapy Technician, but writing is her passion, whether it's fiction or non-fiction. She has honed her craft since childhood, benefiting from the insights of other writers through professional writing associations such as the Jerry Jenkins Writer’s Guild and Hope*writers. She lives with her family in Maine, where she enjoys teaching the teen Sunday school class at her church. Her favorite things are family, books, history, chocolate, music, the ocean, and strong cups of tea.





{my review}

Georgette Heyer meets Charlotte Bronte meets Madeline Brent, and Jane Austen metaphorically writes the foreword. I spent the second half of the book in tears. 

oh. my. stars. 


Atoning for Ashes was the first novel I've read in 36 hours all of last year. (Yes, that includes my own.) 


I couldn't put it down. The prose was so delicious, like a good thick hot chocolate, with the bite and snap of a gingerbread... Okay, I'll stop with the food references. I'm making myself hungry. But seriously, this book is on a plane where I feel with my bones and my lungs, not with my emotions. It's raw, and physical, and very present. 


I see so much of myself in this story. In Josie, in Charles, in the supporting characters. 


The places this novel took me are rich and vivid, elegantly painted, exquisitely detailed. I don't need to go to Cornwall--I feel as though I've been there. 


The struggles of the characters are real and poignant. They're human, flawed, broken, and yet there is hope--hope for forgiveness. For healing. For love. For redemption. 


The things that break us can also be the things that heal us.

Recommend for 16+ due to tastefully portrayed married life, and thematic elements including violence. 


If you're interested in reading Atoning for Ashes, you can pick it up here.


Review copyright 2019 by Annie Louise Twitchell. 
Book media and data used by permission.

Thursday, January 3, 2019

Retrieve {book review}



Retrieve gets the first spot in my book reviews for 2019! 



{Book Info}

Retrieve (The Stormer’s Trilogy #1)
By Sarah Addison-Fox

What if the job you took to stay alive might be what kills you?

Kade knows what it is to suffer. He knows what it’s like to lose everything and everyone around him.

His job in a Stormer Unit guarantees not just his survival in the decimated country of Azetaria, but his sister Meg’s. Even if it means facing the Numachi warriors baying for his blood, he’ll do what it takes to keep her safe.

Hadley is alone and surviving the only way she knows how. By hiding where predators won’t find her and scavenging enough just to keep her alive.

When desperation drives Hadley to search for her missing brother, she mistakenly accepts the offer of recruitment into the Stormer’s camp, only to be partnered with Kade and sent as a scout into Numachi territory.

The intimidating young Stormer may just know where her brother has gone. But can they stay alive long enough to find him?





{My Review}

Five stars! 

I was promised Mulan meets Prince of Persia, and that's what I got. Don't mistake this for any kind of fan fiction, though. Sarah captured the things I liked in Mulan (not my favorite movie; I like it okay, but it's not one I'll watch very often) and wove them together with a smoking hot hero and an adventure story to rival the movies. 

I spent a good deal of time reading this book and squealing quietly to myself because oh. my. stars. 

KADE DAWSON. 

I think I'm in love... 

Okay. I'll settle down and talk about things in a professional manner. I can do this. 

(I think.) 


I love the way Sarah writes. Her prose has this inherent gracefulness, without being sappy or mushy or anything like that. The way she wields her pen is just delicious. 

As always, she brings real people onto the pages. Hadley... precious little Hadley reminds me of myself a few years. I love her. I want to hold her hand and give her hot cocoa. 

Kade... well. I think I summed up my feelings on him already. He's 100% man, but he's respectful and kind, and I want to hug him. Aside from the professional assassin part, my boys can copy him all they want. 

The Numachi are possibly my favorite group of people in the book, which is interesting because they're introduced as the villains. (Stopping here to avoid spoilers.) I love what I learned about them in Retrieve and I can't wait to learn more in the next two books. 

The world building is the only thing that I felt somewhat lost in, mostly the weather patterns, but that was a pretty minor thing. We're in the dead of winter here so I'm aware of the weather, and also read the book too fast because AHHHHHH. 

Five stars, would hand this to a 16+ teen with no hesitation. 





{Author Info}

Twitter: @saddisonfox



Review Copyright 2019 by Annie Louise Twitchell